When Times Get Hard, Stick Together

Recently, his daughter, my soon to be step daughter, 9 years old, has been coming back from her mother’s in a very aggressive mood. She acts as if she is the adult in control of everything. Specifically with me, she tells me she doesn’t need to listen to me when I ask her to do something. My attempts to sooth an argument between her and her father no longer works, just end up with her screaming at me to get out and go away and not to come back. She does not want me included in anything her father and  her do and is not interested in doing any fun activities with me like we used to.

I wonder every second of this happening if she is being told to act this way. I wonder if she is just going through a faze. I wonder if it really is me that is the problem. I have been in her life for almost 4 years, why now is this relationship becoming a problem for her? The main question I think about is how do I fix it?

It beats down everyone’s relationships in this house, but my fiance and I still stick together. Is that what it’s all about? Dependability? Sticking together when times get rough? I don’t know what to do anymore. 

Leave a Reply

